What Just Happened?

Today(well, technically yesterday since it’s past midnight now), I went to a family get-together for my grandpa’s birthday. I had a good time talking to my family, catching up and whatnot. I didn’t want to say goodbye, but it was getting dark, and we were all parting ways. On my way home, I was relaxed, thinking about my day, listening to radiohead, just cruising. I was approaching an intersection (at Church and Rochester, some of you may know where that is) my light was green and I was going straight. It was one of those intersections where the people turning left have to yield to the oncoming traffic. Well, the guy across from me did not yield. It happened so fast, one minute, I’m driving, the next minute, my car is sliding sideways, the airbags inflating in my face, white powder everywhere. I started freaking out, disoriented. “oh my God, oh my God, oh my God…” or something like that. seeing the cracked windshield and realizing how bad the accident was, I touched my face. No blood. “Thank God,” I said aloud, and I meant it. I looked around my car, everything misplaced. I tried to open my door. It wouldn’t budge, I started getting misty-eyed, and hyperventilated a little bit. I looked up and saw a man coming toward my car with a concerned look on his face. I rolled down the window and he asked me if I was okay, “I can’t open my door,” was all I could manage in my state of disorientation. He pulled on it for a little while, and got it to open. As I turned to exit the vehicle, I felt a sharp pain in my leg “my leg hurts” I told the man. He was on the phone calling the police, “here, come over and sit on the curb,” he walked with me as I limped to the curb. When he saw that I was okay, he walked back to the other car. I just sat there for a moment, looking at my car. My baby was totaled. I looked up and saw the curious passers by, and thought it odd to be on the other end of things for once. I called my dad. When he answered, I didn’t know what to say, I was still breathing heavily, almost crying. “What’s wrong?” he asked. I told him about the accident, and he tried to calm me. I wasn’t so much worried about myself, to be honest, I was worried about my car(lol). A man on his bicycle had stopped and asked me if I was okay, I told him I was and continued to talk on the phone with my dad. When we hung up, I walked back over to my car in a daze. I sat in the driver seat and reached over to get my purse. The police and firefighters arrived quickly. I was the only one injured, so they all swarmed around me at my car, asking me various questions. Questions that I would have to answer multiple times through the night. They took me in an ambulance to the emergency room because my leg was swollen, and hurt(still hurts) pretty bad. They strapped me onto a stretcher, which I thought was unnecessary and lifted me into the ambulance. So I had a pleasant talk with the attractive paramedic on the way to the hospital(haha). My dad was an hour or so away, so his friend came to the hospital to help me and whatnot. This was my first time ever being a patient in a hospital. They ended up taking me to the same hospital that my mom died in, which of course brought on some horrible flashbacks, but I resisted the urge to cry because I didn’t want people to think that I was crying over my leg….plus I didn’t want to explain it to them either. It was weird to be in the very emergency room that she was in. The very place that I realized she might die. The very place that I had to make the decision of whether to let her die, or let her live in a state of no recognition, no remembrance, no understanding…a state in which she would not wish to live. It was weird to see that waiting room that my family crowded into in panic and worry, discussing the options and hoping she’d at least be alive when Daniel got there….well you get the idea…lots of memories that I could do without. But anyway, they took some x-rays, and checked me out and whatnot. I’m fine. Nothing is broken, just a messed up, swollen leg that’s gonna hurt for a while, and my neck and back will be sore. ..Oh and I have a sort of “rug burn” on my nose and on my chin from the airbag. My dad called me rudolf because my nose is red (ha). 

So I don’t have a car right now. and my CDs and a book my grandma gave me are still in my car…so we have to figure out where my car is and everything tomorrow. I’ll be driving my dad’s car until we get a rent-a-car. So yeah, I think I about covered everything. Just thought this would be something I should blog about. I’m still kind of shocked though. That was the last thing I expected. I guess that’s why they so fittingly call them accidents. My first accident. I’m going to be a paranoid driver for a while. 

I’m going to miss my car. RIP Sufjan, you were a good car. lol

3 thoughts on “What Just Happened?

  1. wow that’s crazy andrea God is so great that He would pull you through that accident with no horrible injuries praise Him 🙂

  2. Wow the Lord was with you 🙂
    I’m glad your okay..

    …Sufjan… 😦

    Oh well, I guess Wall-E will have to find a new best bud. HAHA

  3. I’m so sad about Sufjan 😦 that car was awesome and it was a really good deal. I don’t think I can get a car that nice for the same price….that is if they even give me the amount that we payed for the car…ugh, so much hassle for some guy’s stupidity…if he would have just been patient and waited a little bit longer, we wouldn’t be in this mess…

Leave a Reply

