A Few Things

There are a few things that have come to my attention recently and have been at the forefront of my mind lately. 

#1: I’ve noticed that I am more judgmental and prideful than I thought I was. I just cringed a little bit as I typed that sentence, because those are character flaws that I really hate admitting that I posses. Well, judgement and pride aren’t always something I consider to be flaws, but when they are taken too far, they are horrible. I’ve realized that often I cannot tell the difference between pre-judging and reasonable logic. I have been having expectations due to conclusions I came to with what I thought was analytical reasoning, but was actually just prejudice (and for those of you who don’t understand that prejudice does not always pertain to race, well…I’m not talking about race haha). I have been very prideful in thinking that I already knew details of situations, because of “clues” I picked up on. Ugh, so basically I am ridiculous. And I apologize if you have been subject to this. Seriously, next time you see that I am doing this, CALL ME OUT ON IT! I need to be put in my place sometimes. 

#2: I have been noticing how extremely hard it is for most people to shut their mouths and just listen. One of my friends (she knows who she is) is having a difficult time because many people are not listening to her, they simply have formed their own opinions about a certain matter and will not even let her make a point. They don’t listen to her objectively. They have their mind set, and will not shake from it. I have also been subject to such subjective listening. Sometimes people just don’t take the time to hear the whole story. So I urge you, next time a friend is talking to you about something, shut your mouth, fix your eyes on them and just listen. And while they are talking, don’t focus on your own opinions that are floating around in your head, be a blank slate and try to see where they are coming from. Seriously it’s not that hard. 

#3: Lately I have realized how completely different everything is in my life now compared to last year. Many of you know of all the changes that have occurred, losing my mom, graduating high school, gaining many more responsibilities, fending for myself a bit more…well I won’t go in to much detail because those things really aren’t the point of this paragraph. What has really amazed me is how my way of thinking and some of my opinions have changed. I think what has happened is I started to think for myself more instead of letting authority figures and people I look up to form my thoughts and opinions. I guess it is fitting that this is also the year I will be voting for the first time haha. It is very refreshing and re-assuring to be looking at things differently. There are things that I never would have imagined questioning that I now disagree with. If someone would have told me that I would change my views on such matters I would have laughed in their face. Well, I probably wouldn’t do that, but what I mean, of course, is I would not believe them. But yeah, I just found that to be interesting. And that’s all I really have to say about that for now.

If you read all of that, thanks. I didn’t even want to read over it myself haha

Leave a Reply

